Product Guides
Loose-Leaf Tea Advent Calendars: A Beginner’s Buying Checklist
A calendar can be a relaxed way to try new teas, but 24 doors do not necessarily mean 24 full mugs. Check the tea, the portion and the delivery details before choosing one.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links in this guide may be affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend gear we would use ourselves. Read our full policy.
Key takeaways
- Check format, portion weight, ingredients and caffeine, brewing equipment, and delivery before buying.
- A tea count is not a serving count: use the listed grams and brewing instructions to estimate cups.
- These are research-based listing checks, not hands-on reviews or guaranteed stock recommendations.
1. Loose leaf or tea bags?
Choose a calendar that explicitly says loose leaf if that is what you want to explore. A sachet can mean a filled brewing bag or simply a pouch holding loose tea; inspect the description rather than relying on the photo. Our loose leaf versus tea bags guide explains the practical differences.
An Advent calendar has a different purpose from a regular sampler: it packages a sequence of surprises. If learning a few teas at your own pace matters more than daily doors, consider a beginner loose-leaf sampler instead.
2. How much tea is behind each door?
Look for grams per portion, total tea weight, and the maker’s suggested water volume. Divide the portion weight by the leaf amount you normally use; that estimates first brews, not guaranteed re-steeps. For example, a hypothetical 4 g pouch would make two 2 g brews or one stronger 4 g brew. It does not prove any calendar contains 4 g portions.
Use our tea-to-water ratios as a starting point and the individual tea’s instructions first. A claim such as ‘one pot’ is hard to compare unless the maker states the pot size. Do not count repeat infusions as promised servings.

3. Pure teas, flavored blends, caffeine and allergens
Pure teas let you compare leaf styles; flavored blends may suit someone who enjoys fruit or spice. Neither format is automatically better. Look for a full tea list if surprises would make it difficult to choose.
Black, green, oolong and white teas generally contain caffeine; white tea is not reliably caffeine-free. A mixed calendar may also contain herbal blends, but do not infer a caffeine-free count from ‘tea and tisanes.’ Read the ingredients of every blend, including any added tea, before choosing an evening cup.
Check ingredients and allergen or cross-contact statements for the exact edition. For a food allergy, ask the manufacturer about the relevant ingredient and handling; a missing allergen statement is not assurance that a calendar is safe. Our tea caffeine guide explains why cup-level amounts vary.
4. Is an infuser included?
Do not assume the mug or strainer pictured comes in the box. Check the contents list. A mug and a roomy basket infuser you already own are enough for many loose-leaf portions; the beginner infuser guide covers what to look for.
Keep each pouch’s brewing instructions, or note the tea name and method after opening it. The water temperature guide is useful when instructions are incomplete.
5. Edition, shipping region and arrival date
Check the year on the listing, the exact variant selected, and whether it is ready to ship, on preorder or backordered. A dispatched order is not the same as a delivered order. Ask for an estimated arrival at your actual ZIP code if starting on December 1 matters to you.
For US delivery, verify an explicit US shipping policy and whether your address is accepted at checkout. An international storefront alone does not confirm US service. Check shipping costs, duties, tracking and whether other items are held with a preorder. None of the listings below supports a guaranteed December 1 arrival from the evidence reviewed.
2026 manufacturer listings to investigate
Manufacturer pages reviewed October 26, 2026. These are candidates to investigate, not products we have brewed or tasted. The links below are ordinary manufacturer references, not affiliate links; no authorized relationship with these makers has been established.
Simpson & Vail’s 2026 Advent calendar lists 24 different loose-leaf teas and tisanes, including black, green, oolong and herbal selections. Portion weights, a complete ingredient/allergen summary and an included infuser were not stated in the reviewed listing. US shipping is explicitly offered. The page showed both ‘in stock, ready to ship’ and ‘backordered, shipping soon’: confirm the actual dispatch estimate before ordering.
Yawn Brew’s 2026 tea Advent calendar offers Christmas, single-origin, breakfast and caffeine-free loose-leaf variants. Check the selected variant: the reviewed page did not establish portion weights, a complete tea count, all ingredients/allergens or an included infuser. Its US policy explicitly describes US delivery and duties included. ‘Shipping now’ and ‘sold out’ appeared together, so current orderability and arrival timing remain uncertain.
Friday Afternoon’s tea Advent calendar describes a 2026 preorder of 25 tea delights, with bagged or loose-leaf choices and each pouch intended for one strong pot. It promises ingredient listings and brewing guidance, but does not specify portion weight or pot volume in the reviewed description. The page said shipping would begin in November 2026 and also displayed ‘sold out.’ Explicit US delivery terms were not verified, so this is not a confirmed US-shopping recommendation.
A small pre-purchase checklist
Keep the first purchase simple. If the portion, ingredients or delivery answer is missing, ask the maker rather than filling in the gaps. A regular sampler remains an alternative when a calendar cannot meet your needs.
- Exact current edition and loose-leaf variant selected.
- Portion grams, suggested water volume and realistic first-brew servings checked.
- Tea list, caffeine needs, ingredients and allergy questions reviewed.
- Mug and infuser available; no matching tea set required.
- Shipping address accepted, total cost and dispatch/arrival estimates checked.
Frequently asked questions
- Does a 24-day tea calendar make 24 cups?
- Not necessarily. Tea count, portion weight and suggested water volume are different measures. Check grams per pouch and brewing instructions; repeat infusions are not guaranteed extra servings.
- Can I get a caffeine-free loose-leaf calendar?
- Some makers offer a caffeine-free variant. Confirm that exact variant’s tea list and ingredients rather than assuming all herbal blends or all Advent calendars are caffeine-free.
- Are these calendars in stock for US delivery?
- Current orderability is not confirmed: the reviewed listings had conflicting stock indicators, and one did not have verified US shipping terms. Check the manufacturer and your address at checkout before ordering.
Free Tea Brewing Cheat Sheet: Temps, Times & Ratios
One printable page of water temperatures, steep times and leaf-to-water ratios — so your new gear makes better tea from day one.


